Feeling Peevish

I have a pet peeve.

Okay, I have more than one, but I just want to talk about one in particular:

Not responding to e-mail.

Actually it’s not responding to communication in general, but e-mail seems to get an easy pass. I know, I can hear the throngs already…‘I don’t have to respond to anything I don’t want to…It’s not all about you…I’m too busy…where is it written that I have to respond when someone sends me an e-mail…???’

It’s not written anywhere, that I know of. And we’re not talking about spam, either. I’m talking about (mostly) business communication, but it applies to personal communication, as well. See, I don’t expect people to answer when I write them, but I believe it is the courteous and in business terms, professional and right thing to do.

With communication there comes a responsibility. You’re right, it’s not all about you. Perhaps it’s more about the other person who’s reaching out to you. With oral communication, blatantly ignoring someone who’s talking to you is considered rude behavior. When you walk by someone and they say hi, do you ignore them and keep walking? Probably not. If you go into someone’s office and they are staring at their computer and don’t give you the time of day, is that rude? I would say yes. When you call someone and they never answer or maybe answer several days later, how does that make you feel? In a professional setting? By someone who calls you friend? So why is e-mail any different? E-mail carries with it as much responsibility as any other means of connecting with fellow humans.

And by the way, I’m not thinking of anyone in particular so I’m not targeting you. Well, I might be…

…just kidding.

I’m curious what you think. I really want to know.

And I suppose I shouldn’t get upset if no one replies….

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling Peevish

  1. Steve Marvin says:

    If you’re not going to answer an e-mail, at least within 1 to 3 days, why have an e-mail address in the first place???
    In case you’re wondering, John, I agree with you!

Leave a Reply

